Radio Club of America Awards

The Radio Club of America has a proud heritage, starting in 1935, of recognizing excellence in the wireless arts in all of its forms. Please click on the award name below for a description of the award and especially note the history and achievements of those we commemorate with awards named in their honor.

Every year, the wireless community is solicited for their contributions.  If you have a candidate, please fill out the Awards Nomination Form to nominate a candidate.  Please see the Suggestions to Nominees for information on improving the chances of your nominee being selected.

After review for eligibility by the Awards Committee, all potential honorees are sent to the Board of Directors for further review and a final vote. Nominations for this year’s awards are now being accepted. The nomination period will end on May 22, 2020.  Awardees are notified in advance and honored at the Radio Club Banquet in November. If you have questions, please contact Amy Beckham, the RCA Executive Secretary, by email at info@radioclubofamerica.org.

Given to RCA Members Given to the General Public
The President’s Award
Established 1974
The Armstrong Medal
Established 1935
The Special Services Award
Established 1975
The Sarnoff Citation
Established 1973
The Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Citation
Established 1975
The Allen B. DuMont Citation
Established 1979
The Ralph Batcher Memorial Award
Established 1976
The Henri Busignies Memorial Award
Established 1981
The RCA Centenarian Award
Established 1989
The Lee de Forest Award
Established 1983
The Special Recognition Award
Established 2000
The Fred M. Link Award
Established 1986
The Jack Poppele Award
Established 1989
The Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award
Established 1994
The Alfred H. Grebe Award
Established 1994
The Frank A. Gunther Award
Established 1996
The Jerry B. Minter Award
Established 1996
NPSTC’s Richard DeMello Award
Established 2006
The RCA Young Achiever Award
Established 2011
Vivian A. Carr Award
Established 2014
Lifetime Achievement Award
Established 2015
U.S. Navy Captain George P, McGinnis Memorial Award
Established 2016
The Jay Kitchen Leadership Award
Established 2018
The RCA Patron Award
Established 2018
Upcoming Events
9:00 pm RCA Interview Series with John F...
RCA Interview Series with John F...
Feb 9 @ 9:00 pm – 10:00 pm
RCA Interview Series with John Facella
Join RCA President Emeritus Tim Duffy for a conversation with new RCA President-elect John Facella! John Facella is a Fellow and Life Member of RCA. He is an alumni of both Georgia Tech (where he[...]
10:00 am Carole Perry to Facilitate Youth...
Carole Perry to Facilitate Youth...
Feb 13 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Carole Perry to Facilitate Youth Forum at 2021 Virtual Hamcation
Carole Perry WB2MGP and RCA Young Achiever Audrey McElroy KM4BUN will be presenting a forum titled “Youth Recruitment and Retention in Ham Radio Ideas” on Saturday, February 13 at 10:00 a.m. ET. This talk will[...]
all-day QCWA Annual Convention
QCWA Annual Convention
Mar 13 – Mar 14 all-day
all-day QSO Today Virtual Ham Expo
QSO Today Virtual Ham Expo
Mar 13 – Mar 14 all-day