Radio Club of America Announces 2016 Award Recipients and Fellows

Shining a spotlight on outstanding achievements in the field of wireless communications, The Radio Club of America (RCA) announces its 2016 award recipients and Fellows. Winners will be celebrated at RCA’s 107th Banquet & Awards Presentation on Friday, November 18, 2016 in New York City.

Armstrong Medal: Morgan E. O’Brien for outstanding achievements and lasting contributions to the radio arts and sciences and wireless communications.

Sarnoff Citation: William T. Murphy, W0RSJ, for exceptional contributions of a technical or non-technical nature to the advancement of electronic communications.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Joseph H. Taylor, K1JT, recognizing his significant achievements and a major body of work accomplished over a lifetime that has advanced the art and science of radio and wireless technology.

Henri Busignies Memorial Award: Mischa Schwartz for achievements in the field of communications equipment and contributions to the advancement of electronics for the benefit of humanity.

Fred M. Link Award: Dan Clark, W9VV, for notable achievements in land mobile radio communications.

Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award: Stanley Reubenstein, WA6RNU, for unique contributions to the field of amateur radio.

Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Award: John S. Oblak, in recognition of noteworthy contributions to the success of RCA or to the radio industry.

Ralph Batcher Memorial Award: Marc F. Ellis, N9EWJ, for significant work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communications.

Frank A. Gunther Award: Robert A. Rude, K0RAR, for his dedication to the field of military communications.

Vivian A. Carr Award: Mercy S. Contreras, recognizing outstanding achievements by a woman in the wireless industry.

President’s Award: John E. Dettra, Jr., WB4NBF, for unselfish dedication to the work of the Radio Club of America.

Special Recognition Award: Robert B. Famiglio, K3RF, in recognition of dedicated service to the Radio Club of America.

RCA Young Achiever Award: Divyam Mishra, KD0OOE, for demonstrated excellence and creativity in wireless communications by a student of high school age or younger.

National Public Safety Telecommunications Council (NPSTC) Richard DeMello Award: Paul Patrick, for achievement at the highest level of personal professional conduct and performance in the local, state and national public safety communications arenas.

Full listing of RCA Awards and previous recipients

 2016 RCA Fellows
Elevation to Fellow is made by nomination only to members in good standing for at least the previous five years and whose contributions to the art and science of radio communications, broadcast or the Radio Club of America are deemed outstanding.

Robert J. Hobday, N2EVG
James H. Kreuzer, N2GHD
Robert E. LaRose, W6ACU
W. Brent Lee
Andrew C. Maxymillian
Stephanie McCall
Thomas L. Morrow
Edward F. O’Connor
Walton L. Stinson, W0CP
Sandra J. Wendelken